20.580 ELO/MITH Symposium on the Future of Electronic Literature

From: Humanist Discussion Group (by way of Willard McCarty willard.mccarty_at_kcl.ac.uk>
Date: Thu, 19 Apr 2007 06:59:18 +0100

               Humanist Discussion Group, Vol. 20, No. 580.
       Centre for Computing in the Humanities, King's College London
                     Submit to: humanist_at_princeton.edu

         Date: Thu, 19 Apr 2007 06:57:18 +0100
         From: "Matt Kirschenbaum" <mkirschenbaum_at_gmail.com>
         Subject: FINAL REGISTRATION: May 3rd ELO/MITH Symposium on
the Future of Electronic Literature (Open Mic and Mouse May 2nd)


Registration for this event is filling up rapidly, but there is still
space available. If you are interested in attending, please register
as soon as possible to secure your spot. We've had a tremendous
response and are looking forward to a terrific event, including press
coverage from the Chronicle of Higher Education and book displays from
the MIT Press and University of Minnesota Press. MGK]

Registration is now open for the Electronic Literature Organization
and Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities' Thursday, May
3rd public symposium at the University of Maryland, College Park on
The Future of Electronic Literature:


The symposium is co-sponsored by the University Libraries, Department
of English, and Human-Computer Interaction Lab at Maryland.

Registration is free for ELO members and University of Maryland
students, staff and faculty; others, including members of the general
public, are asked to pay a very modest fee. ALL ATTENDEES MUST,
HOWEVER, REGISTER. Space is limited, so reserve early!

(National Archives), but that's just the beginning of the list of
terrific people who will be in attendance:

     * Sandy Baldwin (West Virginia University)
     * Bill Bly (Independent Writer and Scholar)
     * Laura Borr=E0s Castanyer (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Spain)
     * helen DeVinney (University of Maryland)
     * Neil Fraistat (University of Maryland)
     * Bertrand Gervais (Universit=E9 du Qu=E9bec =E0 Montr=E9al, Canada)
     * Belle Gironda (Queensborough Community College)
     * Dene Grigar (Washington State University Vancouver)
     * Juan B. Gutierrez (Florida State University)
     * Rob Kendall (Independent Writer and Scholar)
     * Matthew Kirschenbaum (University of Maryland)
     * Deena Larsen (Independent Writer and Scholar)
     * Mark Marino (University of Southern California)
     * Talan Memmott (California State University Monterey Bay)
     * Nick Montfort (University of Pennsylvania)
     * Scott Rettberg (University of Bergen, Norway)
     * Susan Schreibman (University of Maryland)
     * Doug Sery (MIT Press)
     * Stepahnie Strickland (Independent Writer and Scholar)
     * Thom Swiss (University of Minnesota)
     * Joseph Tabbi (University of Illinois-Chicago)
     * Jill Walker (University of Bergen, Norway)
     * Noah Wardrip-Fruin (UCSD)
     * Joshua Weiner (University of Maryland)

Panels will be devoted to procedural or process-driven writing, the
international electronic literature scene, and electronic literature
in the 21st century. A complete schedule for May 3rd is available at
the URL posted above.

There will also be an *** open mic/mouse *** on the evening of
Wednesday, May 2, starting at 6:15 in Art/Soc 2203. Many of the
symposium attendees will be reading/performing from their current and
favorite works of electronic literature, and everyone will be welcome
to take a turn at the mic/mouse. A great way way to encounter this
exciting body of writing for the first time. The open mic/mouse is
free and open to the public, no registration necessary.

Please forward/post as appropriate.


Matthew Kirschenbaum
Assistant Professor of English
Associate Director,
Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH)
University of Maryland
301-405-8505 or 301-314-7111 (fax)
Received on Thu Apr 19 2007 - 02:09:44 EDT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 : Thu Apr 19 2007 - 02:09:49 EDT